skip to Main Content

Security Guard Requirements

Connecticut General Statute 29-161q requires that security officers obtain a Security Officer Certification Identification Card, prior to a Security Service Company registering such employee with the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.  All security officers must be at least 18 years of age and (armed security officers must be at least 21 years of age), to work armed.

Applicants for Security Officer Certification Identification Card must complete a course of instruction approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection, at their expense. The course is offered by private instructors and involves classroom criminal justice training. Upon completion of the course, the instructor signs off on the reverse side of the application form DPS 135-C. The application form and fingerprints are then submitted to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit. The Security Officer card is good for 5 years unless suspended or revoked. 

The cost of obtaining the certification card is  $100.00, plus fingerprint card with two Cashiers Checks or Money Orders, one in the amount of $75.00 and the other $12.00, payable to the Treasurer, State of Connecticut.  A criminal history background check will be run on the prospective applicant. The applicant will be notified of the approval or denial of the certification identification card. 

The employer is responsible for insuring that the employee has obtained the security officer certification identification card, the employee will not be allowed registration without it.

Failure to register an employee or allowing such person to work without the proper security officer certification identification card may result in the suspension or revocation of the company’s business license.  Failure of the security officer to obtain the certification identification card may result in the employee being issued a citation.

No person shall be approved for the security officer certification identification card that has been convicted of a felony, any sexual offense or any crime that would tend to question the honesty and integrity of the person. No person that has been denied a security service license, except based upon lack of experience, may be certified or registered as a security officer. Security officers may only be issued, and wear badges or insignia of the type authorized and approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection. See approved Badge form under “Application Forms” An employer is required to notify SLFU within 5 business days of the resignation, termination or firing of any employee registered as a security officer. Further, the employer is required to submit a list of all registered security employees to SLFU, each year, upon renewal of their license.

The Security Officer Certification Identification Card Application Form and fingerprints must be obtained from an approved instructor. The form cannot be downloaded off the website. You can arrange to have an application form mailed to you by calling (860) 685-8160 and requesting it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top